infos

Evangelia Kranioti / Les Feux d'Ulysse

12 March May 29, 2016

The sea is a fabulous factory of images and legends. From the Odyssey to the novels of Joseph Conrad and Blaise Cendrars, it has stimulated the imagination of artists. Inspired by the myths of her native Greece, with her mounted camera Evangelia Kranioti opens a new page in the mythology of travel by probing the intimacy of those modern heroes of the sea and, through them, the complexity of love’s feelings and desires.
For her solo exhibition at the CRP/, Evangelia Kranioti presented two series of photographs from the projects Mediterranea and Erotica, exotica, Etc. Two videos are also being presented in the second gallery, taken from the project Erotica, Exotica, Etc., which is also a feature-length film released in 2015.
The images presented in « Les Feux d’Ulysse » (Ulysses’s Lights) are the result of years of contact with Greek sailors in ports around the world. Over long distances, following their wanderings, she listened to their stories and created portrait of them, and of the women at the heart of their stories. It is all about their complex, ambivalent relationships, about desire and impossible loves, about seeking and losing oneself in other places and other people.

légende

Evangelia Kranioti / Les Feux d'Ulysse

12 mars 29 mai 2016

La mer est une fabuleuse fabrique d’images et de légendes. De l’Odyssée aux romans de Joseph Conrad et de Blaise Cendrars, elle favorise l’imaginaire des artistes. Evangelia Kranioti nourrie par les mythes de sa Grèce natale ouvre avec sa caméra embarquée une nouvelle page dans la mythologie du voyage en sondant l’intimité de ces héros modernes des mers, et à travers elle la complexité du sentiment et du désir amoureux.
Pour son exposition personnelle au CRP/, Evangelia Kranioti présentait deux séries de photographies des projets Mediterranea et Exotica, Erotica, Etc. Deux vidéos étaient également présentées dans la seconde galerie tirées du long métrage Exotica, Erotica, Etc., sorti en 2015.
Les images présentées dans Les Feux d’Ulysse sont le résultat d’années passées au contact des marins grecs sur les mers et dans les ports à travers le monde. Au long cours, en suivant leurs errances, elle a écouté leurs histoires, réalisé leurs portraits et ceux des femmes qui sont au cœur de leurs récits. Il est question de leurs relations complexes et ambivalentes, de désir et d’amours impossibles, de quête et de perte de soi dans l’ailleurs et dans l’autre.

Retrouvez-nous aussi sur :