infos

Camille Lévêque / Tsavt Tanem

January 15 24 April 2022

The CRP/ is presenting an unseen exhibition of the latest series by French visual artist Camille Lévêque.

Camille Lévêque draws from her Armenian roots to build layered work in which archive images enter into dialogue with her own photographs. Created either here or there, they explore the artist’s personal and complex relationship with Armenia. The fantasy fed by family stories is confronted with reality to raise discussions that go beyond the nucleus of the Armenian diaspora. Her fragmented approach attempts to reconstruct and give visibility to a kind of archaeology of identity.

Surrounded by models that share her origins and her fundamental questions, Camille Lévêque establishes her own narrative—an individual mythology generated by the muddled feeling of attraction / repulsion, symptomatic of her dual culture. In her installations, she deconstructs ways of representing the Armenian woman, diverting traditional dress in order to better break the imposed codes.

The title Tsavt Tanem refers to a popular Armenian expression that could translate as “I take away your pain”. The religion that is so prevalent in Armenia, and spirituality and belief more generally, punctuate Camille Lévêque’s research in this project that fundamentally tackles transmission and heritage.

Camille Lévêque (1985, Paris) is a self-taught visual artist whose practice mixes photography, collage, video and installation. She worked as a reporter for the UNHCR in Armenia, and was an editorial assistant for Magnum Photos in Paris, before focusing on her practice as photographer, editor and graphic designer. She is a founder of the LIVE WILD collective. While constantly developing her practice, she essentially explores notions of memory, identity and intimacy, making the family the cornerstone of her analysis.

Retrouvez-nous aussi sur :

légende

Camille Lévêque / Tsavt Tanem

15 janvier 2021 24 avril 2022

Le CRP/ présente une exposition inédite de la dernière série de l’artiste visuelle française Camille Lévêque.

Camille Lévêque s’appuie sur ses origines arméniennes pour construire un travail en strates où les images d’archives dialoguent avec ses propres photographies. Réalisées ici ou là-bas, elles interrogent le rapport personnel et complexe que l’artiste entretient avec l’Arménie. Le fantasme nourri par les récits familiaux se confronte à la réalité pour soulever des débats qui dépassent le noyau de la diaspora arménienne. Sa démarche fragmentée tente de reconstituer et de rendre visible une sorte d’archéologie de l’identité.

Entourée de modèles qui partagent ses origines et ses questionnements fondamentaux, Camille Lévêque instaure sa propre narration. Une mythologie individuelle générée par le sentiment trouble d’attraction / répulsion, symptomatique de sa double culture. Dans ses mises en scène, elle déconstruit notamment les modes de représentation de la femme arménienne, en détournant les costumes traditionnels pour mieux casser les codes imposés.

Camille Lévêque (1985, Paris) est une artiste visuelle autodidacte dont la pratique mélange photographie, collage, vidéo et installation. Elle a travaillé en tant que reporter pour l’UNHCR en Arménie et assistante éditoriale pour Magnum Photos à Paris pour ensuite se concentrer sur sa pratique de photographe, éditrice et graphiste. Elle est la fondatrice du collectif LIVE WILD. Tout en développant continuellement sa pratique, elle explore essentiellement les notions de mémoire, identités et intimité, mettant la famille comme pierre angulaire de son analyse.

Retrouvez-nous aussi sur :