infos

Boris Mikhailov, personal exhibition

08 December 2018 24 February 2019

The CRP/ is dedicating a solo exhibition to Ukrainian artist Boris Mikhailov, an international figure in contemporary photography. In order to echo the region’s industrial history, he has chosen to present two series at the CRP/ gallery: Promzona, produced for the 2012 Kiev Biennale and now being shown in France for the first time, and Salt Lake, created in 1986.

Boris Mikhailov is an artist who is constantly inventing himself, capable of pioneering new formal practices since the 1960s, such as in the series Yesterday’s Sandwich (1966-68), or staging the homeless of Kharkov in the true urban phantasmagoria Case History (1997-98). Through the two series presented in the exhibition, the artist plunges us into his country’s history, from the Soviet past to the Ukraine of today. Through his sensitive, nostalgic, but also scathing and socially engaged vision, he offers uncompromising work that takes the form of a fierce observation of humankind and an imaging of history, that of the former Soviet Bloc, from its great moments, to its collapse, to the unkept democratic promises of the transition to capitalism.

With his camera, the artist revisits places in which his own past is rooted. Promzona (2011) shows a site where he worked as an engineer forty years earlier in Kharkov, Ukraine’s industrial jewel near the coal basin of Donbass. Salt Lake is a photographic series created in 1986 in Sloviansk, his father’s native city in Donbass.

The images of factories show the still-active traces of the past in Kharkov, a gigantic metal workshop serving the Soviet Union and now serving Ukraine, producing equipment and machines in large numbers since the 1920s. These industrial complexes are relics of a mythical age when the Revolution was led by the power of industry, when artists extolled the beauty of machines.

In Boris Mikhailov’s work, photographs are what survive of a bygone continent, and what link us to it.

Boris Mikhailov’s exhibition is supported by Goethe Institut.

légende

Boris Mikhaïlov, l'âme, un subtil moteur à explosion

08 décembre 2018 24 février 2019

Le CRP/ consacre une exposition personnelle à l’artiste ukrainien Boris Mikhaïlov, figure internationale de la photographie contemporaine. En écho à l’histoire industrielle de la région, il a choisi de présenter dans la galerie du CRP/ la série Promzona, produite en 2011 pour la Biennale de Kiev et montrée pour la première fois dans une institution en France, et la série Salt Lake réalisée en 1986.

Boris Mikhaïlov est un artiste en perpétuelle invention capable d’inaugurer de nouvelles pratiques formelles dès les années 60 avec la série Yesterday’s Sandwich (1966-68), de mettre en scène les clochards de Kharkov dans une véritable fantasmagorie urbaine dans Case history (1997-98). A travers les deux séries présentées dans l’exposition, l’artiste nous plonge dans son histoire nationale, du passé soviétique à l’Ukraine actuelle. Vision sensible, nostalgique mais acérée et engagée, il nous propose un travail sans concessions s’incarnant à la fois dans une observation féroce de l’humain et la mise en images d’une Histoire, celle de l’ex-bloc soviétique, de ses grandes heures à son effondrement jusqu’aux promesses démocratiques non tenues de l’ouverture capitaliste.

L’artiste revisite avec son objectif des lieux ancrés dans son propre passé. Promzona en 2011 montre un site où il a travaillé comme ingénieur quarante ans auparavant à Kharkov, fleuron industriel de l’Ukraine prés du bassin houiller du Donbass. Salt Lake est une série photographique réalisée en 1986 à Slaviansk, la ville d’origine de son père dans le Donbass.

Les vues d’usines témoignent de la trace encore active du passé de Kharkov, atelier métallurgique géant de l’Union Soviétique et maintenant de l’Ukraine d’où sortent en grand nombre depuis 1920 équipements et machines. Ces complexes industriels sont la survivance d’un âge mythique où la Révolution était portée par la puissance de l’industrie, où les artistes exaltaient la beauté des machines.

Chez Boris Mikhaïlov, la photographie est ce qui subsiste d’un continent disparu et ce qui nous relie à lui.

 

L’exposition de Boris Mikhaïlov reçoit le soutien du Goethe Institut.