infos

Manifestations

11 June August 14, 2016

An exhibition exploring the CRP/'s collection

Alexandre Christiens, Claude Dityvon, Peter Downsbrough, Rémi Guerrin, Graciela Iturbide, Jean Marquis, Justine Triet, Soe Zeya Tun
Curator : Muriel Enjalran

Through a selection of photographs from the CRP/’s collection, “Manifestations” endeavours to explore the semantic field of manifestation and its different occurrences that closely combine social and aesthetic forms of revelation. Works by artists represented in the collection will be exhibited alongside some of their more recent creations, or alongside works by other artists invited for the occasion, reviving and renewing approaches to, and interpretations of, the CRP/’s photographic collection.
“Declaring, expressing, making or letting things appear, revealing or being revealed in one’s existence or nature” are occurrences used to define the verb “to manifest” and the noun “manifestation”. They could just as well be attached to art.
The term “manifesto” has often been chosen by artists to open and assert new aesthetic and political movements. In France today it is common to refer to artistic manifestations1 to stress that they constitute events and exceptions.

légende

Manifestations

11 juin 14 août 2016

Une exposition autour de la collection

Alexandre Christiens, Claude Dityvon, Peter Downsbrough, Rémi Guerrin, Graciela Iturbide, Jean Marquis, Justine Triet, Soe Zeya Tun
Commissaire de l’exposition : Muriel Enjalran

A travers un choix de photographies issues de la collection du CRP/, Manifestations se propose d’explorer en images le champ sémantique de la manifestation et ses différentes occurrences où s’allient intimement les modes de la révélation sociale et esthétique : du Manifeste ouvrant de nouvelles voies en art, de l’apparition à la déclaration, de la démonstration à la protestation. Les œuvres d’artistes présentes dans la collection sont ainsi mises en regard avec certaines de leurs créations plus récentes ou avec des productions d’autres artistes invités pour l’occasion, réactivant et renouvelant ainsi les approches et les lectures du fonds photographique du CRP/.
« Déclarer, exprimer, faire ou laisser apparaître, révéler ou se révéler dans son existence ou sa nature » sont autant d’occurrences utilisées pour définir le verbe manifester et le nom manifestation. Elles pourraient tout autant être attachées à l’art.
Le terme « Manifeste » a de nombreuses fois été la forme choisie par les artistes pour ouvrir et affirmer de nouvelles voies esthétiques voire politiques. L’on parle aujourd’hui couramment de manifestations artistiques pour désigner leur caractère événementiel et exceptionnel.