infos

David Schalliol and Justine Pluvinage / Resilient Images

23 September 19 November 2017

The CRP/ and the Hyde Park Art Center are pleased to present Resilient Images, an exhibition of photographic works and videos by Justine Pluvinage and David Schalliol, winners of the 2016 international residency program of the same name run by these two art centers in Hauts-de-France and Chicago.

Resilient Images is the result of several immersive exchange residencies done by these two artists in Chicago and Hauts-de-France respectively, and is embodied in a two-part exhibition that, for the first time, shows the new works the artists produced during their residencies. The CRP/ is presenting the first phase of this exhibition, which will be mounted again at the Hyde Park Art Center in January 2018.

Justine Pluvinage and David Schalliol have developed specific artistic projects—a video installation and a photographic series—connected with the social and cultural context of these areas, based on their common industrial heritage. These two iron and steel-manufacturing regions had to deal with the disappearance of their industries by reinventing their territories and activities, as reflected in the communities of inhabitants that both artists studied in order to create their projects. The notion of resilience is at the heart of these projects, which explore how women and men adapt and overcome problems linked to the economic and social evolution of these territories.

Justine Pluvinage was born in 1983 in Roubaix. She lives and works in Lille.
David Schalliol was born in 1976 in Indianapolis. He lives and works between Chicago and Minneapolis.

Associate partner : Hyde Park Art Center

Resilient Images is supported by:
John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation’s International Connections Fund
Institut Français and Cultural Services of the French Embassy

légende

David Schalliol et Justine Pluvinage / Resilient Images

23 septembre 19 novembre 2017

Le CRP/ et l’Hyde Park Art Center sont heureux de présenter Resilient Images, une exposition d’œuvres photographiques et vidéos de Justine Pluvinage et David Schalliol, lauréats en 2016 du programme de résidence international du même nom porté par ces deux centres d’art dans les Hauts-de-France et à Chicago.

Resilient Images est le résultat de plusieurs séjours de résidences croisées et immersives pour ces deux artistes, respectivement à Chicago et dans les Hauts-de-France et s’incarne dans une exposition en deux parties qui permet de montrer pour la première fois les nouveaux travaux que chacun a produits au cours de sa résidence. Le CRP/ présente le premier volet de cette exposition qui se redéploiera à l’Hyde Park Art Center en janvier 2018.

Justine Pluvinage et David Schalliol ont ainsi développé des projets artistiques spécifiques – installation vidéo et séries photographiques – attachés au contexte social et culturel de ces territoires, et s’appuyant sur un héritage industriel commun. Ces deux bassins sidérurgiques ont en effet dû faire face à la disparition de leurs industries et réinventer leur territoire et ses activités à l’image de ses communautés d’habitants auxquelles se sont intéressés les deux artistes pour réaliser leur projet. La notion de résilience est au coeur de leurs projets, en explorant les manières dont les femmes et les hommes s’adaptent et surmontent les difficultés liées au devenir économique et social de ces territoires.

Justine Pluvinage est née en 1983 à Roubaix. Elle vit et travaille à Lille.
David Schalliol est né en 1976 à Indianapolis. Il vit et travaille entre Chicago et Minneapolis.

Partenaire de l’exposition : Hyde Park Art Center

L’exposition reçoit le soutien de :
John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation’s International Connections Fund
Institut Français and Cultural Services of the French Embassy