Clarisse Hahn / Nature, Jungle, Paradise

17 March 27 May 2018

Clarisse Hahn’s solo exhibition Nature, Jungle, Paradis presents new works alongside older series that constituted the foundations of her research, as well as vernacular images from the CRP/ archives. It offers a plunge into the multifarious and challenging oeuvre of this artist whose works include video, film, photography and installation.

By exploring the foundational narratives and myths of the state of nature, the artist pursues her project to establish a true living archaeology of modernity, and continues her reflection on body language, on what the gestures and poses frozen in images say about our societies. From the migrant crisis to convicted boys, from mine workers to exotic populations or the bodies of pre-Nazi athletes, what Clarisse Hahn constructs is a fresco of humanity in search of a lost paradise.

The demystification she offers implies laying bare one’s own projections and fantasies, leading the viewer to wonder about human nature. Thus the artist breaches images to bring out the truth of reality.


Opening on March 17 / 12:30 pm

légende

Clarisse Hahn / Nature, Jungle, Paradis

17 mars 27 mai 2018

L’exposition personnelle de Clarisse Hahn, Nature, Jungle, Paradis nous propose à travers de nouvelles productions présentées en regard de séries plus anciennes fondatrices de sa recherche et d’images vernaculaires du fonds du CRP/, une plongée dans l’œuvre plurielle et exigeante de cette artiste dont le travail se déploie entre la vidéo, le cinéma, la photographie et l’installation.

Poursuivant le projet de dresser une véritable archéologie vivante de la modernité et prolongeant une réflexion sur le langage des corps, sur ce que les gestes et postures figées dans les images disent de nos sociétés, l’artiste s’intéresse ici aux récits et mythes fondateurs de l’état de nature. De la crise des migrants aux jeunes garçons jugés, aux travailleurs des mines, en passant par les peuples exotiques ou les corps des athlètes prénazis, c’est une fresque de l’humanité à la recherche d’un paradis perdu que construit Clarisse Hahn.

La démystification proposée implique une mise à nu de ses propres projections et fantasmes qui amène à se questionner sur la nature humaine. L’artiste ouvre ainsi des brèches dans les images pour en faire ressortir la vérité du réel.

 

Vernissage le samedi 17 mars / 12h30